Ahead of the start of the ACC Baseball Championship, today the Atlantic Coast Conference announced their annual Baseball Season Honors and All-ACC teams. Six Louisville Cardinals were named to the All-ACC lists, including a selection to the All-ACC First Team.

All-ACC First Team

  • Reid Detmers – SP

All-ACC Second Team

  • Logan Wyatt – 1B
  • Alex Binelas – 3B
  • Michael McAvene – RP

All-ACC Third Team

  • Justin Lavey – 2B
  • Tyler Fitzgerald – SS

ACC All-Freshman Team

  • Alex Binelas – 3B

The All-ACC selections for the Cardinals, like 2018, comprises of mostly first timers. Junior first baseman Logan Wyatt is the only 2019 All-ACC selection to have been previously named, having been a First Team selection in 2018. Junior LHP Nick Bennett (2018 Second Team, 2017 Third Team, 2017 All-Freshman), sophomore RHP Bobby Miller (2018 Third Team, 2018 All-Freshman) and junior DH/OF Danny Oriente (2018 Third Team) are the only other active Cardinals to have been previously named an All-ACC selection.

All six honorees as well as the rest of the Cardinal Nine are set to begin ACC Baseball Championship pool play on Wednesday, May 22nd at 11am against the #12 seeded Boston College Eagles (29-26, 12-18). Louisville will then be back in action on Thursday, May 23rd at 11am against the #8 seeded Clemson Tigers (33-23, 15-15). Both of Louisville’s games will be televised on ACC Network Extra/Fox Sports South, and will be broadcast on 93.9 The Ville. All 15 ACCBC games, including Louisville’s, will be played at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in Durham, NC.

The following two tabs change content below.

TCZ Comments