Per UofL Press release:

GREENSBORO, N.C. – University of Louisville forward Jordan Nwora was honored as the 2019 ACC Most Improved Player and earned third team All-ACC honors in a vote of media and league coaches.

Nwora is the second-most improved scorer in the nation with his 17.3 scoring average (fifth in the ACC), up 11.6 points per game from his 5.7 average a year ago.  He is one of four players in the ACC who has scored 20 or more points on at least 12 occasions this season.  Nwora has scored in double figures in 29 of 31 games this season (last 16 straight games) and has produced eight double-doubles this season.

A sophomore from Buffalo, N.Y., Nwora is UofL’s leader in scoring (17.3 ppg, fifth in the ACC) and rebounding (7.7 rpg, seventh in the ACC).  He is also among the ACC leaders in field goal percentage (.445, 13th), three-point field goal percentage (.372, 10th), three-pointers made per game (2.3, 12th), defensive rebounds (6.42 per game, fourth) and minutes played (32.2 per game, 19th). 

An exercise science major who was named to the All-ACC Academic men’s basketball team last week, Nwora scored a career-high 32 points against Boston College in Louisville with 10 rebounds and four assists.  Honored on the 2018 NIT Season Tip-Off All-Tournament team in November, he has made at least three three-pointers on 16 occasions this season.  

Nwora is the Cardinals’ first All-ACC selection since Donovan Mitchell earned first team All-ACC honors in 2017.  Ray Spalding was an honorable mention choice for the Cardinals last season.

The recipients of the 2019 All-ACC honors are included below.

All-ACC First Team
Zion Williamson, Duke
RJ Barrett, Duke
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia
Cameron Johnson, North Carolina
Kyle Guy, Virginia

Second Team
Luke Maye, North Carolina
Ky Bowman, Boston College
Ty Jerome, Virginia
Coby White, North Carolina
Kerry Blackshear Jr., Virginia Tech

Third Team
Jordan Nwora, Louisville
Marcquise Reed, Clemson
Tyus Battle, Syracuse
Nickeil Alexander-Walker, Virginia Tech
John Mooney, Notre Dame

Honorable Mention
Mifondu Kabengele, Florida State
Cam Reddish, Duke
Tre Jones, Duke
Terance Mann, Florida State
Elijah Thomas, Clemson

ACC Player of the Year
Zion Williamson, Duke

ACC Freshman of the Year
Zion Williamson, Duke

ACC Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett, Virginia

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia

ACC Most Improved Player
Jordan Nwora, Louisville

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Mifondu Kabengele, Florida State

ACC All-Defensive Team
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia
Tre Jones, Fr., Duke
Zion Williamson, Fr., Duke
Elijah Thomas, Sr., Clemson
James Banks III, Jr., Georgia Tech

ACC All-Freshman Team
Zion Williamson, Duke
Coby White, North Carolina
RJ Barrett, Duke
Xavier Johnson, Pitt
Tre Jones, Duke

The following two tabs change content below.

LJ Nesbitt

The BHK. Writer for , 1/2 of the TCZ Podcast. Surviving in the great city of Louisville, in the not so great state of KY. Loui$ville KY

Latest posts by LJ Nesbitt (see all)

TCZ Comments