Louisville Linebackers Keith Kelsey & Devonte Fields were both named to the Bednarik Award pre-season Watch List.  The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented annually to the defensive college football player of the year as voted by the Maxwell Football Club in Philadelphia.  The award has been presented annually since 1995 with winners such as Pat Fitzgerald, Charles Woodson, LaVar Arring, Julius Peppers, Paul Posluszny, Ndamukong Suh, Patrick Peterson & Aaron Donald.

Keith Kelsey tallied 107 tackles last season along with 12 Tackles for Loss, 3.5 sacks, and a forced fumble.  Keith has 215 career tackles and is routinely named as one of the best linebackers in College Football.

Devonte Fields started 2015 slow………and still managed to have 63 tackles with TWENTY-TWO (22!) TFLs and 10.5 sacks and forced 2 fumbles.

Together Fields & Kelsey are two big parts of Louisville’s linebacker unit that has garnered national attention this off-season.

No Louisville player has won the Bednarik Award.  Elvis Dumervil won the Bronko Nagurski & Ted Hendricks Awards, Art Carmody won the Lou Groza Award, & Gerod Holliman won the Jim Thorpe Award for the Cardinals.

The Butkus Award Watch List has yet to be released, but we’ll keep our readers up to date as they are released.

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of TheCrunchZone.com

TCZ Comments