University of Louisville head coach Jeff Walz has been named a Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year semifinalist by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.
Walz, a finalist for the award in 2017-18, is seeking his first Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year honor.
Four of the 10 semifinalists are from the Atlantic Coast Conference and he is joined by —Geno Auriemma (Connecticut), Lisa Bluder (Iowa), Amanda Butler (Clemson), Kelly Graves (Oregon), Carolyn Kieger (Marquette), Muffet McGraw (Notre Dame), Wes Moore (North Carolina State), Kim Mulkey (Baylor) and Vic Schaefer (Mississippi State).
“The competition for the Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Award starts now as we see which coaches can withstand the tough matchups ahead,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We’re looking forward to watching these candidates lead and push their teams to excel in the tournament.”
The list will be narrowed to four finalists on March 21, and fans will be able to support their favorite women’s college coach by visiting between March 22-April 3, to cast their ballot. The fan vote will account for five percent of the overall final vote. The 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year will be announced on April 6, and the winner will be honored at their school at a later date.
“Werner is once again thrilled to be presenting the semifinalists for the Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year,” said Stacy Gardella, vice president of brand marketing at WernerCo. “These coaches know how to promote teamwork and dedication in the talented players they coach.”

Geno AuriemmaUConnAAC
Lisa BluderIowaBig Ten
Amanda ButlerClemsonACC
Kelly GravesOregonPac-12
Carolyn KiegerMarquetteBIG EAST
Muffet McGrawNotre DameACC
Wes MooreNorth Carolina StateACC
Kim MulkeyBaylorBig 12
Vic SchaeferMississippi StateSEC
Jeff WalzLouisvilleACC

The four finalists will be chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, comprised of leading journalists from around the country, current and former head coaches, former award winners and conference commissioners, all of whom base their selections on outstanding coaching performances during the 2018-19 college basketball season. The vote will be tabulated and certified by Aprio, a premier, CPA-led business advisory firm.

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments