Two University of Louisville men’s basketball players have received all-conference honors for the 2015-16 season.

Graduate guard Damion Lee was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference second team as selected by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). Sophomore forward/center Chinanu Onuaku was honored on the ACC All-Defensive team and was an honorable mention All-ACC choice.

Lee led the Cardinals in scoring and is 10th in the ACC, averaging 16.2 points and 1.5 steals (fifth in the ACC) while shooting 84.3 percent from the free throw line (fifth in the ACC).  Lee scoring in double figures in 26 of 30 games this season and was the Cardinals’ top scorer in 16 games.  From Baltimore, Md., Lee scored his 2,000th career point last Wednesday, a figure which includes his season at Drexel.

Onuaku was eighth in the ACC in rebounding (8.6 rpg), third in blocked shots (2.0 bpg) and sixth in offensive rebounds (3.0) while averaging 10.0 points and shooting 62.9 percent from the field this season.  The Lanham, Md. product had 11 double-doubles on the season and 13 for his career, including six consecutive in his first six ACC games this season.  His 10 double-doubles in ACC games was second in the ACC.  He was the first Cardinal with six straight double-doubles in 22 years, since Clifford Rozier had nine straight during the 1993-94 season.  He led the team with 38 dunks this season.

The complete list of honors is listed below:

2016 ACC Basketball Post-Season Honors

All-Atlantic Coast Conference

First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

Cat Barber, Jr., NC State

Grayson Allen, So., Duke

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson

Second Team

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse

Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami

Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame

Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke

Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville

Third Team

Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech

Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia

Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame

Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh

Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami

Honorable Mention

Justin Jackson, North Carolina

Tonye Jekiri, Miami

Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech

Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

London Perrantes, Virginia

Devin Thomas, Wake Forest

ACC All-Defensive Team

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse

Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson

Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville

ACC All-Freshman Team

Brandon Ingram, Duke

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State

Malik Beasley, Florida State

Malachi Richardson, Syracuse

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest

ACC Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year

Brandon Ingram, Duke

ACC Coach of the Year

Jim Larrañaga, Miami

ACC Defensive Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson

ACC Sixth Man of the Year

Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

Latest posts by Mark Blankenbaker (see all)

TCZ Comments