Louisville center Bryan Hudson has been voted the winner of the 2023 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced on Monday.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

Hudson, a 6-5, 305-pound redshirt senior from Georgetown, Kentucky, heads into Saturday night’s 2023 ACC Football Championship Game having played in 58 games over his collegiate career. He has played in every game for the Louisville Cardinals for the last three years after transferring in after two years at Virginia Tech.

With Hudson paving the way, Louisville boasts one of three ACC 1,000-yard rushers (Jawhar Jordan) and has amassed over 5,250 yards in total offense. The Louisville offense ranks 26th nationally with an average of 438.6 total yards per game and 33rd in all of FBS in rushing offense with an average of 183.5 yards per game on the ground for the year. Hudson, who was voted the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week on Sept. 25, has played over 780 snaps this season, totaling 50 knockdowns, and has not allowed a sack all season long.

“Bryan is very deserving of this honor. To be voted the most outstanding lineman by your peers is an incredible tribute to Bryan’s dedication and ability as a football player. He has obviously been one of our best and most consistent players this season,” stated Louisville head coach Jeff Brohm. “Bryan has battled injuries for most of the year, which speaks to his desire to be out there every day for his teammates and our university. He is a guy who works at his craft and is an incredibly disciplined and technically sound offensive lineman. He’s been a leader from the first day I took this job and I appreciate all he’s done for our football team.”

This marks the second time that a Louisville player has claimed the Jacobs Blocking Trophy since joining the ACC in 2014 and the first since Mekhi Becton won it in 2019.

Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy

1953    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1954    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1955    Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland

1956    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1957    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1958    John Saunders, FB, South Carolina

1959    Doug Cline, FB, Clemson

1960    Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke

1961    Art Gregory, T, Duke

           Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina

1962    Art Gregory, T, Duke

1963    Chuck Walker, T, Duke

1964    Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina

1965    John McNabb, G, Duke

1966    Wayne Mass, T, Clemson

1967    Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson

1968    Greg Shelly, T, Virginia

1969    Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland

1970    Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia

1971    Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina

1972    Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina

1973    Bill Yoest, G, NC State

1974    Ken Huff, G, North Carolina

1975    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1976    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1977    Joe Bostic, G, Clemson

1978    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1979    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1980    Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina

1981    Lee Nanney, T, Clemson

1982    Dave Pacella, T, Maryland

1983    James Farr, G, Clemson

1984    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1985    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1986    Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest

1987    John Phillips, G, Clemson

1988    Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina

1989    Chris Port, T, Duke

1990    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1991    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1992    Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest

1993    Mark Dixon, G, Virginia

1994    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1995    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1996    no recipient

1997    Tra Thomas, T, Florida State

1998    Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech

1999    John St. Clair, C, Virginia

2000    Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State

2001    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2002    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2003    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2004    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2005    Eric Winston, T, Miami

2006    Josh Beekman, G/C, Boston College

2007    Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest

2008    Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia

2009    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2010    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2011    Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech

2012    Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina

2013    Cameron Erving, T, Florida State

2014    Cameron Erving, T/C, Florida State

2015    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2016    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2017    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson

2018    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson

2019    Mekhi Becton, T, Louisville

2020    Liam Eichenberg, T, Notre Dame

2021    Ikem Ekwonu, T, NC State

2022    Jordan McFadden, T, Clemson

2023    Bryan Hudson, C, Louisville

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of TheCrunchZone.com

TCZ Comments