Last night, the University of Louisville added 2 new Super Bowl Champions to its alumni.

Breno Giacomini starts at Right Tackle for the Seattle Seahawks, Champion of Super Bowl XLVIII, protecting Russell Wilson and paving the way for 341 yards of offense in a 43-8 victory.  Breno came to UofL as a part of the 2004 Class (Bobby Petrino’s 2nd recruiting haul) from Malden High School in Massachusetts as a 6-7, 242 lbs Defensive Lineman.  Giacomini didn’t last long at DE and was quickly moved to Tight End where he played until he grew into an Offensive Tackle. Last night Breno played at 6-7, 318 lbs.

Greg Scruggs had a promising rookie year in 2012 and was expected to contribute to the 2013 before suffering an ACL injury in his right knee that required surgery last May.  Scruggs is famous for being recruited to play High School football out of the band where he played quad drums, until his senior year when he finally was convinced to play football.  Greg was a part of the 2008 class by Steve Kragthorpe (2nd class) out of St. Xavier H.S. in Cincinnati, OH.

Louisville now has 14 players with Super Bowl rings in the last 14 Super Bowls.  Including 4 SB Rings in the last 2 Super Bowls.   For its history, the University of Louisville has 27 Super Bowl Rings throughout the course of the 48 Super Bowls.

2013 Seattle Breno Giacomini, Greg Scruggs
2012 Ravens Chris Johnson, Anthony Allen
2011 Giants
2010 Packers Jason Spitz
2009 Saints Earl Heyman
2008 Steelers William Gay
2007 Giants Sam Madison
2006 Colts
2005 Steelers
2004 Patriots Deion Branch
2003 Patriots Deion Branch, Ted Washington
2002 Tampa Bay Roman Oben
2001 Patriots
2000 Ravens Carl Powell, Chris Redman
1999 Rams
1998 Broncos
1997 Broncos
1996 Packers
1995 Cowboys
1994 49ers Klaus Wilmsmeyer
1993 Cowboys
1992 Cowboys
1991 Redskins Joe Jacoby
1990 Giants
1989 49ers
1988 49ers
1987 Redskins Anthony Copeland, Joe Jacoby, Ed Rubbert
1986 Giants
1985 Bears Tom Andrews, Otis Wilson
1984 49ers
1983 Raiders
1982 Redskins Joe Jacoby
1981 49ers
1980 Raiders
1979 Steelers Dwayne Woodruff
1978 Steelers
1977 Cowboys
1976 Raiders
1975 Steelers
1974 Steelers
1973 Dolphins Larry Ball
1972 Dolphins Larry Ball
1971 Cowboys
1970 Colts Johnny Unitas
1969 Chiefs
1968 Jets John Neidert
1967 Packers
1966 Packers
The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments