University of Louisville men’s basketball coach Rick Pitino is one of 10 national semifinalists for the 2017 Werner Ladder Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year.

Joining Pitino on the list of ten national semifinalists are Northwestern’s Chris Collins, Baylor’s Scott Drew, Gonzaga’s Mark Few, West Virginia’s Bob Huggins, SMU’s Tim Jankovich, Arizona’s Sean Miller, Kansas’ Bill Self, Florida’s Mike White and Villanova’s Jay Wright.

Pitino has guided the Cardinals, ranked seventh by the Associated Press and eighth in the USA Today coaches poll, to a 23-7 record entering Saturday’s regular season finale against Notre Dame in the KFC Yum! Center.  The Cardinals are one of just four schools which have won 20 or more games in each of the last 15 season and have faced one of the nation’s toughest schedules this year.  UofL was projected as a No. 2 seed and the seventh overall choice in the NCAA March Madness Bracket Preview presented on Feb. 11.

The list will be narrowed to four finalists on March 16.  After the finalists are chosen, fans will have an opportunity to participate in overall voting process.  From 10 a.m. ET on March 20 through 11:59 p.m. ET on March 31 fans can cast their ballot at  One vote per person, per category, per day is permitted.  The fan vote will account for 5% of the total vote.

The award will be presented at the Naismith Final Four Awards Brunch on Sunday, April 2 in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments