University of Louisville offensive tackle Mekhi Becton has been voted the winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy,  Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Monday.

Louisville has won the honor for the first time since officially joining the league in 2014.

“I’m really proud of Mekhi and extremely happy for him because of all the hard work he put into this season,”  Louisville head coach Scott Satterfield said. “Mekhi has had a tremendous year and deserves this outstanding recognition as one of the top blockers in this prestigious conference. He has been a leader for our offensive line and our offense as a whole, and to be recognized for his accomplishments by members of this league is a great honor for Mekhi.  To be the first Louisville player to win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy is truly a testament to type of person and player Mehki has been this season.”

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

Becton, a 6-foot-8, 370-pound junior from Highland Springs, Va.,, has started 33 games at offensive tackle for the Cardinals and was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week on Oct. 7 after his performance in the 41-39 victory over Boston College. He graded out better than 80 percent in eight games and registered over 60 knockdown blocks to help the Cardinals finish the regular season at 7-5 and 5-3 in the ACC — a turnaround of five games from a year ago.

Becton has been a dominating force in Louisville’s resurgent offense. The Cardinals finished the regular season having one of the nation’s top offenses in 2019. He has paved the way for Javian Hawkins to rush for 1,420, the school’s first 1,000-yard season by a running back since Bilal Powell in 2014 and the third-best total by a freshman in league history.

The Cardinals rushed for over 200 yards in eight of 12 games, including a pair of 300-yard contests.

The third-year junior leads a Louisville offense that ranks third in the ACC in rushing (214.2), fifth in total offense (442.1) and fourth in scoring offense (32,7).

Becton will be recognized at the ACC Legends Banquet on Friday night in Charlotte, N.C.

  • Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy:
  • 1953    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
  • 1954    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
  • 1955    Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
  • 1956    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
  • 1957    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
  • 1958    John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
  • 1959    Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
  • 1960    Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
  • 1961    Art Gregory, T, Duke. Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
  • 1962    Art Gregory, T, Duke
  • 1963    Chuck Walker,T, Duke
  • 1964    Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
  • 1965    John McNabb, G, Duke
  • 1966    Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
  • 1967    Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
  • 1968    Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
  • 1969    Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
  • 1970    Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
  • 1971    Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
  • 1972    Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
  • 1973    Bill Yoest, G, NC State
  • 1974    Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
  • 1975    Billy Bryan, C, Duke
  • 1976    Billy Bryan, C, Duke
  • 1977    Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
  • 1978    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
  • 1979    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
  • 1980    Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
  • 1981    Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
  • 1982    Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
  • 1983    James Farr, G, Clemson
  • 1984    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
  • 1985    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
  • 1986    Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
  • 1987    John Phillips, G, Clemson
  • 1988    Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
  • 1989    Chris Port, T, Duke
  • 1990    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
  • 1991    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
  • 1992    Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
  • 1993    Mark Dixon, G, Virginia
  • 1994    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
  • 1995    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
  • 1996    no recipient
  • 1997    Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
  • 1998    Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
  • 1999    John St. Clair, C, Virginia
  • 2000    Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State
  • 2001    Brett Williams, T, Florida State
  • 2002    Brett Williams, T, Florida State
  • 2003    Elton Brown, G, Virginia
  • 2004    Elton Brown, G, Virginia
  • 2005    Eric Winston, T, Miami
  • 2006    Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
  • 2007    Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
  • 2008    Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
  • 2009    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
  • 2010    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
  • 2011    Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
  • 2012    Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
  • 2013    Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
  • 2014    Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State
  • 2015    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
  • 2016    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
  • 2017    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
  • 2018    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
  • 2019    Mekhi Becton, T, Louisville
The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments