Setter Katie George and outside hitter Janelle Jenkins has been named to the ACC’s First Team All-Conference. Freshman Tess Clark made second team and was also named to the ACC All-Freshmen Team along with teammate Maggie DeJong.

Miami senior outside hitter Savanah Leaf has been selected as the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Player of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Volleyball Team, announced Wednesday.

North Carolina senior libero Ece Taner has been named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year, and North Carolina’s Joe Sagula was named Coach of the Year. Duke’s senior setter Kelsey Williams was named Setter of the Year, and Miami’s Haley Templeton was chosen as the Freshman of the Year. Templeton headlines the nine-person All-Freshman Team. The awards were decided based on a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

Leaf, a native of San Anselmo, California, ranks first in the conference and 16th in the nation with 4.56 kills per set. She is just the second student-athlete from Miami to earn Player of the Year honors and the first since Lane Carico in 2011. Leaf led the Hurricanes to a third place finish in the conference with a 14-4 record.

Taner earns the second Defensive Player of the Year honors after helping the Tar Heels earn the 2014 ACC Volleyball Title. Taner ranks second in the conference with 4.48 digs per set and becomes the second libero from North Carolina to earn the award since its inception in 2009.

Williams is awarded the first-ever Setter of the Year honor after ranking first in the conference and sixth nationally in assists per set with 11.70. The inaugural winner was instrumental in the Blue Devils’ ACC leading 14.18 assists and 14.97 kills per set. 

Templeton is the second Miami student-athlete and the first since Carico in 2008 to be named ACC Freshman of the Year. As a rookie, Templeton ranked second in the conference with 11.02 assists per set and played a key role in Leaf’s conference leading kills per set average.

North Carolina’s Sagula led the Tar Heels to a 26-2 overall and, 17-1 ACC record in earning his fourth ACC Coach of the Year honor (1998, 2002, 2005, 2014). Overall, Sagula has been at the helm for six (1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2008, 2014) of North Carolina’s 16 conference titles in program history. Under his guidance during the 2014 season, North Carolina saw four players named members of All-ACC teams, a ranking as high as No. 7 in the AVCA poll and the No. 7 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Eleven different schools are represented on the All-ACC Team, led by Duke and Florida State’s five student-athletes. Four from North Carolina were recognized, followed by three from Louisville, Miami and Pitt, two from Virginia and Virginia Tech and one apiece from Clemson, Syracuse and Wake Forest.

Joining Templeton on the All-Freshman Team are Clemson’s Kate Federico, Florida State’s Milica Kubura, Louisville’s Tess Clark and Maggie DeJong, NC State’s Kaitlyn Kearney, Notre Dame’s Sam Fry and Wake Forest’s Kylie Long and Caroline Wolf.

2014 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Savanah Leaf, Sr., OH, Miami
Defensive Player of the Year: Ece Taner, Sr., L, North Carolina
Setter of the Year: Kelsey Williams, Sr., S, Duke
Freshman of the Year: Haley Templeton, Fr., S, Miami
Coach of the Year: Joe Sagula, North Carolina

2014 All-ACC Volleyball First Team

Jeme Obeime !             Duke

Emily Sklar !             Duke

Kelsey Williams           Duke

Sarah Burrington          Florida State

Katie Mosher !            Florida State

Nicole Walch !            Florida State

Katie George              Louisville

Janelle Jenkins           Louisville

Savanah Leaf !            Miami

Emani Sims #              Miami

Chaniel Nelson #          North Carolina

Paige Neuenfeldt !        North Carolina

Ece Taner                 North Carolina

Amanda Orchard            Pitt

Kathryn Caine !           Virginia Tech

Lindsey Owens             Virginia Tech

2014 All-ACC Volleyball Second Team

Karis Watson              Clemson

Sasha Karelov             Duke

Jordan Tucker             Duke

Katie Horton              Florida State

Kiara Wright              Florida State

Tess Clark                Louisville

Haley Templeton           Miami

Victoria McPherson !      North Carolina

Delaney Clesen            Pitt

Kate Yeazel               Pitt

Silvi Uattara             Syracuse

Jasmine Burton !          Virginia

Lauren Fuller !           Virginia

Jazmen Russell            Wake Forest

2014 All-ACC Freshman Team

Kate Federico             Clemson

Milica Kubura             Florida State

Tess Clark                Louisville

Maggie DeJong             Louisville

Haley Templeton           Miami

Kaitlyn Kearney           NC State

Sam Fry                   Notre Dame

Kylie Long                Wake Forest

Caroline Wolf             Wake Forest

! – Two-time selection

# – Three-time selection

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments