Former University of Louisville standouts Elvis Dumervil & Eric Wood were named to the 2016 Pro Bowl.

Elvis Dumervil earned the honor with the Baltimore Ravens wtih 48 tackles and 6 sacks to go with a forced fumble.  Dumervil has 96 sacks during his 10 year NFL career as an edge rusher at Outside Linebacker.  Dumervil was the Bronco Nagurski Award Winner at Lousiville in 2005 as the Defensive Player of the Year when he registered an NCAA Record 22 sacks in a single season.  Elvis also won the Ted Hendricks Award, the Bill Willis Award and was inducted into the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2014.  This past season, Elvis returned to Louisville to have his jersey honored at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.   Dumervil was drafted in the 4th Round with the 126th pick of the 2006 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos.  This is his 5th Pro-Bowl Selection.

Eric Wood was selected to the Pro Bowl after playing his 7th season with the Buffalo Bills at Center. The Bills finished 8-8 and Wood’s QB Tyrod Taylor was also selected to the Pro Bowl. Wood is also the Bills’ representative of the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year.  Wood was Freshman All-American for Louisville in 2005, 2nd Team All-Big East in 2006, and 1st Team All-Big East in 2007 & 2008.  Eric has played in 95 NFL games, starting all of them.  Wood was drafted in the 1st Round with the 28th Pick by the Buffalo Bills, this is his 1st Pro-Bowl Selection.

Teddy Bridgewater was selected to the Pro Bowl after playing his 2nd season with the Minnesota Vikings at Quarterback.  Teddy was a late edition after Carson Palmer declined.  The Vikings finished the 2015 season with an 11-5 record and lost in the playoffs Wild Card to Seattle after a missed chip shot field goal.  Teddy was 292-447 (65.3%) for 3231 yards for 14 TD and 9 Interceptions. Bridgewater also ran for 192 yards on 44 carries and 3 Touchdowns. Teddy was the NFL’s Pepsi Rookie of the Year in 2014, the NFC North Rookie of the Year, a Freshman All-American in 2011 at Louisville, Big East Rookie of the Year (2011), the Big East Player of the Year (2012), Sugar Bowl MVP (2013), and Russell Athletic Bowl MVP (2014).  Bridgewater was drafted in the 1st round with the 32nd pick.  This is his 1st Pro Bowl.

Gary Barnidge was selected to the Pro Bowl after Rob Gronkowski declined his invitation.  Barnidge is in his 3rd season with the Cleveland Browns and had a CAREER YEAR with 79 receptions for 1043 yards and 9 Touchdowns as a Tight End.  Barnidge was drafted out of the Louisville following the 2007 season in the 2008 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers in the 5th round with the 141st selection.  This is his 1st Pro Bowl Selection.

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

TCZ Comments