University of Louisville guard/forward Deng Adel has been named to the USBWA’s preseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented annually to the national player of the year.

A preseason All-ACC selection (second team), Adel is one of 32 individuals included on the prestigious watch list, including a nation-leading eight representatives from the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Adel was the Cardinals’ primary starter at small forward as a sophomore when he averaged 12.1 points, 4.5 assists, and made 44 3-point goals. An All-ACC Academic Men’s Basketball team selection each of the last two years, Adel scored in double digits in 22 games. The 6-foot-7 forward from Melbourne, Australia, was the Cards’ scoring leader over the last six games of the season, averaging 16.3 points, shooting 54 percent from the field (35-of-65), and scoring at least 16 points in five of the six.

While the 32 standout players are the initial contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all NCAA Division I players are eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. For the ninth straight season, the USBWA will present an Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week each Tuesday beginning Dec. 12.

In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its 2017-18 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With more than 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Louisville will play its second exhibition game against Bellarmine on Tuesday before opening the 2017-18 season against George Mason on Sunday, Nov. 12 at 2 p.m. in the KFC Yum! Center.

The complete watch list is included below.

USBWA’s Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List
Name, School, Year, Position
Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure, Sr., G
Deng Adel, Louisville, Jr., G/F
Grayson Allen, Duke, Sr., G
KeVaughn Allen, Florida, Jr., G
Deandre Ayton, Arizona, Fr., F
Marvin Bagley III, Duke, Fr., F
Mohamed Bamba, Texas, Fr., C
Joel Berry II, North Carolina, Sr., G
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier, Sr., G
Miles Bridges, Michigan State, So., F
Bruce Brown Jr., Miami, So., G
Jalen Brunson, Villanova, Jr., G
Jevon Carter, West Virginia, Sr., G
Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, Fr., F
Gary Clark, Cincinnati, Sr., F
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame, Sr., F
Mike Daum, South Dakota State, Jr., F
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall, Sr., C
Hamidou Diallo, Kentucky, Fr., G
Trevon Duval, Duke, Fr., G
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas, Sr., G
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin, Jr., C
Kevin Knox, Kentucky, Fr., F
Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s, Sr., C
Yante Maten, Georgia, Sr., F
Chimezie Metu, USC, Jr., F
Michael Porter Jr., Missouri, Fr., F
Collin Sexton, Alabama, Fr., G
Landry Shamet, Wichita State, So., G
Reid Travis, Stanford, Jr., F
Allonzo Trier, Arizona, Jr., G
Robert Williams, Texas A&M, So., F

The following two tabs change content below.
@UofLSheriff50. Louisville native, University of Louisville Business School Grad c/o 2004. Co-Founder of

Latest posts by Mark Blankenbaker (see all)

TCZ Comments